Operating a car, truck, motorcycle or other mode of transportation while under the influence of drugs or alcohol violates federal and New Jersey laws. Even if you only had a couple of drinks after work or a big glass of wine with dinner, you could face serious penalties if you are pulled over and charged with a DUI.
If you are facing a DUI charge in New Jersey, you need an experienced lawyer to defend your rights. Contact Shapiro & Sternlieb, LLC today online or at (732) 617-8050 to discuss your case for free. We welcome clients from Newark, Jersey City and nearby areas in Monmouth and Middlesex Counties.
Understanding DUI/DWI in New Jersey
If you operate a motor vehicle and have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher, you are considered to be driving under the influence.
Until August 2019, New Jersey had some of the most restrictive DWI laws in the United States. Unlike many states, it didn't have a work license program or a conditional driver’s license program. Motorists convicted of DWI had their licenses suspended and weren't allowed to drive under any circumstances. Our state also didn't offer ignition interlock devices (IIDs) as an alternative to suspension.
That changed when Governor Phil Murphy signed into law a bill that expanded the use of IIDs as a substitute for license suspension.
"License suspensions are an imperfect tool," Murphy said at the time. "They do not stop drunk drivers from getting behind the wheel, and they can prevent ex-offenders from supporting their livelihoods. In contrast, ignition interlock devices prevent drunk driving while allowing ex-offenders to support themselves and their families."
Now, New Jersey's DWI laws mandate that:
- First-time DWI offenders with a BAC of 0.08 to 0.10 must have an IID installed for 3 months.
- First-time offenders with a BAC between 0.10 and 0.15 must install an IID for 7 to 12 months.
- For these offenders, the license suspension will last only as long as it takes to install the IID.
- First-time offenders with a BAC over 0.15 will have their license suspended for 4 to 6 months, then must install an IID for 9 to 15 months.
Aggressive Legal Counsel on Your Side
We understand that the thought of losing your license, your money or your freedom can be frightening. The inability to drive can impact your career and daily life. Our criminal defense attorneys are committed to thoroughly investigating every aspect of your case to determine a strategy that looks out for your best interests.
Whenever possible, we will look for evidence from your case that could lead to a dismissal of your DUI charge, such as:
- An illegal stop
- Breath test machine was improperly operated
- Breath test operator was unlicensed or had an expired license
- The officer failed to read the implied consent warning
- Contamination of the alcohol reading
- The field sobriety test did not show probable cause to compel submission to a breath test
The DUI and DWI lawyers at Shapiro & Sternlieb, LLC will investigate the manner in which your arrest was handled and aggressively defend against your drunk driving charge.
Schedule Your Free Consultation Today
Don’t face a DUI or DWI charge alone. Call our skilled lawyers today at (732) 617-8050 to discuss your case for free. We welcome clients from Monmouth and Middlesex County and nearby areas in NJ.